<< to homepage


Search country or currency in the world.

Shilling (TZS) is the currency in Tanzania

Facts about Shilling

  • Country:
  • Currency:
  • Currency code (ISO 4217):
  • Short for the currency:
  • Currency subunits:
    100 senti

Before 1966 Tanzania used the East African shilling. The Tanzanian shilling is issued by the Bank of Tanzania with main office in Dar es-Salaam. The currency has two different kinds of coins and one type of banknote. Coins are issued in 7 values from 1 to 200 shilling. Senti coins are available in 4 values from 5 - 50 senti. Banknotes are present in 5 values from 500 shilling up to 10 000 shilling.

Where is Tanzania?

Show a bigger map of Tanzania

Tanzania is a country in East Africa with coastal line to the Indian Ocean. The country is poor but the economy has improved the last couple of years because of gold mining, oil and natural gas resources.

A currency refers to a means of payment in one or several countries.
A currency can be shortened as a currency code of three letters.
On World Currency List you can learn more about all of the world currencies.

Currency A-Z | Currency codes A-Z | Country A-Z

World Currency List.com ©2024 | About World Currency List.com | Privacy Policy