<< to homepage


Search country or currency in the world.

Rupee (LKR) is the currency in Sri Lanka

Facts about Rupee

  • Country:
    Sri Lanka
  • Currency:
  • Currency code (ISO 4217):
  • Short for the currency:
  • Currency subunits:
    100 cents

The Sri Lankan rupee was introduced in 1870 replacing the British pound. It is issued by the Central Bank of Sri Lanka and comes in 6 coins and 6 banknotes.

Where is Sri Lanka?

Show a bigger map of Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka used to be called Ceylon before 1972. The country is located in south Asia and has a population of 20 million.

A currency refers to a means of payment in one or several countries.
A currency can be shortened as a currency code of three letters.
On World Currency List you can learn more about all of the world currencies.

Currency A-Z | Currency codes A-Z | Country A-Z

World Currency List.com ©2024 | About World Currency List.com | Privacy Policy