<< to homepage


Search country or currency in the world.

Rupee (MUR) is the currency in Mauritius

Facts about Rupee

  • Country:
  • Currency:
  • Currency code (ISO 4217):
  • Short for the currency:
  • Currency subunits:
    100 cents

The Mauritian rupee was introduced as currency in Mauritius in 1877 replacing the Mauritian dollar. The currency is issued by the Bank of Mauritius in Port Louis.

Where is Mauritius?

Show a bigger map of Mauritius

Mauritius is republic and island nation in the Indian Ocean east of Madagascar. The country was declared independant in 1968 and have since developed from an agricultural based economy to a more industrial economy. Tourism and financial services are also important incomes for the country.

A currency refers to a means of payment in one or several countries.
A currency can be shortened as a currency code of three letters.
On World Currency List you can learn more about all of the world currencies.

Currency A-Z | Currency codes A-Z | Country A-Z

World Currency List.com ©2024 | About World Currency List.com | Privacy Policy