<< to homepage


Search country or currency in the world.

Kyat (MMK) is the currency in Burma

Facts about Kyat

  • Country:
  • Currency:
  • Currency code (ISO 4217):
  • Short for the currency:
  • Currency subunits:
    100 pya

The kyat is the currency used in Burma. It was introduced in 1952, replacing the Indian rupee. The currency is only valid in Myanmar and it is forbidden to bring in or out the currency. The currency is issued by the Central Bank of Myanmar in Naypyidaw.

Where is Burma?

Show a bigger map of Burma

Burma, also called Union of Myanmar, has borders to China, Bangladesh, India, Laos and Thailand. The capital is Naypyidaw and the country declared itself independant from Great Britain in 1948. The country struggles with unstable domestic policy and drugs.

A currency refers to a means of payment in one or several countries.
A currency can be shortened as a currency code of three letters.
On World Currency List you can learn more about all of the world currencies.

Currency A-Z | Currency codes A-Z | Country A-Z

World Currency List.com ©2024 | About World Currency List.com | Privacy Policy